Symposium X—Erik Bakkers

12:15 PM–1:15 PM Nov 29, 2018 (US - Eastern)

Sheraton, 2nd Floor, Grand Ballroom


Erik Bakkers, Technische Universiteit Eindhoven, will present Bottom-Up Grown Nanowire Quantum Devices.

Signatures of Majoranas have been obtained in devices based on InSb nanowires coupled to a superconductor. Different schemes for uncovering their unique non-Abelian statistics are proposed, for which a nanowire network assembly is needed. Here, we demonstrate a generic process by which we can design any proposed nanowire network device by manipulating an InP substrate and thereby the nanowire growth position and orientation. Nanowire “hashtag” structures are grown in which phase coherent transport is demonstrated by the Aharonov–Bohm (AB) effect. In addition, we can in situ grow epitaxial Al islands on the nanowires, resulting in high-quality interfaces. We employ here self-shadowing structures, such that a complete device can be realized by bottom-up grown techniques. With these new devices we have observed a quantized Majorana signal.

About Erik Bakkers
Erik Bakkers obtained his PhD degree in nanoelectrochemistry at the University of Utrecht and then started working at Philips Research in Eindhoven in 2000. He started his own research group, and the team focused on nanowires—lines of material with a width of several tens of nanometers—an area he continues to research, looking at integration into semiconductors in particular. In 2010, his growing interest in fundamental research resulted in his joining Technische Universiteit Eindhoven as well as Delft University of Technology as a part-time professor in the Quantum Transport Group. His current interest is in Quantum Materials, to detect and manipulate Majorana states, and in Hexagonal Silicon, to demonstrate and exploit the predicted direct bandgap in this material. He has received the Technology Review Award from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), a Vici Grant, European Research Council (ERC) Consolidator Grant (COG), and the Science American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) Newcomb Cleveland Prize.